Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

July 8, 2020

The Honorable Mark T. Esper Secretary of Defense 1000 Defense Pentagon Washington, DC 20301-1000

The Honorable William Barr Attorney General U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20530-0001

Dear Secretary Esper and Attorney General Barr,

In light of the U.S. Supreme Court ruling in *Bostock v. Clayton County*, in which a 6-3 majority ruled that Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 protects LGBTQ people from workplace discrimination, we urge the Department of Defense (DOD) to immediately update its policies to eliminate the ban on open transgender military service. Additionally, to prevent further harm to transgender servicemembers, we urge the DOD to instruct the Department of Justice (DOJ) to negotiate the end to litigations challenging the ban.

On April 12, 2019, the Trump administration's policy banning transgender persons from serving openly in the military went into effect. This policy denies transgender people the ability to enlist in the military and puts transgender troops at risk of being discharged for living openly and authentically. The Trump Administration's Ban was implemented against the recommendations of several former Surgeons General and against a wide array of military experts. Additionally, the country's preeminent health care organizations, including the American Psychiatric Association, the American Psychological Association and the American Medical Association, have all issued statements affirming that transgender people can competently serve in the military.

The *Bostock* decision unambiguously clarified that Title VII's prohibition against discrimination on the basis of sex includes protections for LGBTQ workers. Justice Gorsuch wrote "[t]he statute's message for our cases is equally simple and momentous: An individual's homosexuality or transgender status is not relevant to employment decisions. That's because it is impossible to discriminate against a person for being homosexual or transgender without discriminating against that individual based on sex."

There are four lawsuits challenging the ban on open transgender military service on the grounds that it violates the Due Process Clause in the Fifth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution, which like Title VII prohibits sex-based discrimination. The Ninth Circuit court had already ruled in *Karnoski v. Trump* that heightened scrutiny applies to anti-transgender discrimination. The U.S. Supreme Court's ruling in *Bostock* will provide significant weight to those already substantial claims: the principle announced—that gender-identity discrimination is discrimination "because of … sex"—applies equally to claims under

the Constitution. Prolonging the litigation in the face of almost certain defeat, and thereby prolonging the existing policy, will continue to inflict serious harm on transgender people seeking to serve our country and on those already serving while living in the shadows, enduring the dignitary harm of being told they're a burden.

This policy is an attack on transgender service members who are risking their lives to serve our country and it should be reversed immediately.

We appreciate your timely attention to these matters.

Sincerely,

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Signatories

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Colin Allred Karen Bass Ami Bera, M.D. Donald S. Beyer Jr. Earl Blumenauer Suzanne Bonamici Julia Brownley Salud O. Carbajal Ed Case Sean Casten Kathy Castor Joaquin Castro Judy Chu David N. Cicilline Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Yvette D. Clarke Emanuel Cleaver, II Bonnie Watson Coleman Gerald E. Connolly Jim Cooper Joe Courtney

John B. Larson Barbara Lee Sheila Jackson Lee Andy Levin Ted W. Lieu Zoe Lofgren Alan Lowenthal Stephen F. Lynch Tom Malinowski Sean Patrick Maloney Betty McCollum A. Donald McEachin James P. McGovern Gregory W. Meeks Grace Meng Gwen S. Moore Joseph D. Morelle Seth Moulton Debbie Mucarsel-Powell Jerrold Nadler Grace F. Napolitano Joe Neguse

Angie Craig Charlie Crist Sharice L. Davids Danny K. Davis Madeleine Dean Peter A. DeFazio Diana DeGette Mark DeSaulnier Debbie Dingell Eliot L. Engel Anna G. Eshoo Adriano Espaillat **Bill Foster** Ruben Gallego Jesús G. "Chuy" García Sylvia R. Garcia Jimmy Gomez Raúl M. Grijalva Deb Haaland Alcee L. Hastings Jahana Hayes **Brian Higgins** Jim Himes Eleanor Holmes Norton Jared Huffman Pramila Jayapal Henry C. "Hank" Johnson William R. Keating Joseph P. Kennedy, III Ro Khanna Daniel T. Kildee Derek Kilmer Ron Kind Ann McLane Kuster Rick Larsen

Ilhan Omar Frank Pallone, Jr. Jimmy Panetta Chris Pappas Donald M. Payne Jr. Scott Peters Mark Pocan David E. Price Mike Quigley Jamie Raskin Kathleen M. Rice Lisa Blunt Rochester Lucille Roybal-Allard Tim Ryan Linda T. Sánchez Jan Schakowsky Adam B. Schiff Bradley S. Schneider Kim Schrier, M.D. José E. Serrano Albio Sires Thomas R. Suozzi Mark Takano Mike Thompson Dinna Titus Lori Trahan David Trone Lauren Underwood Nydia M. Velázquez Debbie Wasserman Schultz Peter Welch Jennifer Wexton Susan Wild John Yarmuth