October 25, 2018 at 10:48 am PDT | by John Paul King
LGBTQ Doc announced as winner at Hollywood Film Awards

Dan Reynolds in “Believer” (Image courtesy Live Nations Productions)

The LGBTq-themed documentary “Believer,” telling the story of Imagine Dragons’ frontman Dan Reynolds as he comes to a crossroads when he witnesses fellow members of the Mormon church spurned due to their sexual orientation, will be presented the “Hollywood Documentary Award” at the 22nd Annual Hollywood Film Awards, taking place on Sunday, November 4 at The Beverly Hilton.

The film, produced by Live Nation Productions and directed by Don Argott, follows Reynolds and openly gay former Mormon Tyler Glenn, lead singer of Neon Trees, as they decide to create LoveLoud, a music and spoken-word festival designed to spark dialogue between the church and members of the LGBTQ community.  Their efforts were sparked by the skyrocketing rates of teen suicide in Utah since 2008, which many people have attributed to the Mormon church’s official stance regarding same-sex relationships.

Reynolds, who also served as Executive Producer on the film, will be accepting the award.  As part of the ceremony, Reynolds, producer Tim Edgar and award-winning composer Hans Zimmer will also take the stage to deliver a performance of the movie’s empowering track “Skipping Stones.” The song is one of two original songs that are featured in the documentary.  Reynolds teamed up with the film-score legend for this heartfelt track to promote change, love and acceptance of the LGBTQ community within the Mormon Church.

Previously announced honorees for this year’s awards include:

Nicole Kidman, “Hollywood Career Achievement Award.”

Glenn Close, “Hollywood Actress Award.”

Hugh Jackman, “Hollywood Actor Award.”

Damien Chazelle, “Hollywood Director Award.”

Timothée Chalamet, “Hollywood Supporting Actor Award.”

Rachel Weisz, “Hollywood Supporting Actress Award.”

“Crazy Rich Asians,” “Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award.”

Amandla Stenberg, “Hollywood Breakout Performance Actress Award.”

John David Washington, “Hollywood Breakout Performance Actor Award.”

Felix Van Groeningen, “Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award.”

Yalitza Aparicio, “New Hollywood Award.”

Dick Clark Productions’ Hollywood Film Awards, honoring the most acclaimed films and actors while previewing highly anticipated films and talent for the upcoming year, also acknowledges artists in the categories of Cinematography, Visual Effects, Film Composing, Costume Design, Editing, Production Design, Sound and Makeup & Hairstyling. In its 22-year history, more than 320 of the world’s biggest stars and filmmakers have been highlighted at the “Hollywood Film Awards” and more than 130 of the honorees have gone on to garner Oscar nominations and/or wins.

For the latest news, follow the “Hollywood Film Awards” on social media and join the conversation by using the official hashtag for the show, #HollywoodAwards.

Twitter: @HollywoodAwards

Facebook: Facebook.com/HollywoodAwards

Instagram: @hollywoodawards

YouTube: youtube.com/HollywoodAwards


Comments are closed
© Copyright Los Angeles Blade, LLC. 2020. All rights reserved.